lent

last year, i read an article just before lent that inspired me very much.

this article discussed the ritual of giving something up for lent, but countered it with adding something.

something negative, something positive.

for last year’s lent, i gave up my shopping money (a small amount i set aside each month, mad money, if you will). in turn, i gave that money to the church.

it had a great impact on my budget and my tithing. now, i (usually) make a tithing gift to the church at each mass.

i’m still contemplating my something negative and something positive this year. i want it to be different than last year. since it is only fat tuesday, i will eat a paczki and enjoy the evening of dance. and finishing considering my lenten sacrifice.

One thought on “lent

  1. Pingback: something negative, something positive | adventurer in life

Comments are closed.